Name: Libby Vernon

Age: 33

Home: Gower



Where have you travelled recently: I’ve just returned to the UK after 3 years away travelling around New Zealand, I scored killer waves, met some amazing people and it really improved my surfing heaps. I’m now saving up my pennies for my next adventure, which I hope will be a Moroccan trip this autumn

Where’s your favourite wave and why: By far the best waves I have ever surfed have been in the North Island of New Zealand, mainly due to the fact they were consistently big, clean and in warm water!!

Who’s your surfing BBFs: My surfing BBF would definitely have to be my boyfriend – we try and out surf each other all the time, which pushes me to do better. There’s a great crowd of Gower boys and girls that I love to surf and hang out with – there’s always a friendly face in the water.

How do you feel about surfing in contests: I love them now but it was a slow love affair!!! My first competition was the 2005 British Student Nationals and despite coming 2nd I didn’t compete again until earlier this year. I fell in love with competition surfing earlier in 2014, I don’t know where my new confidence came from but I’m now entering as many contests as I can. My best result was coming 2nd in the Welsh Nationals 2014 .


How do you survive surfing in the winter: It’s hard, but enthusiasm and commitment gets you through it. I recommend a good reliable surfing buddy, a good wetsuit and a flask of tea for afterwards!!

What are you looking forward to this coming year: Winter swells and less people in the water! I’m also looking forward to surfing in Morocco, snowboarding in Canada as well as entering a whole heap of contests up and down the coast.

What’s your favourite food: Thai green curry. I’d eat it every evening if I could

How important is diet and fitness to your surfing: Both is massively important!! I practice Yoga a few times a week and try and surf as much as possible – I feel the physical and mental benefits immediately after exercising. I eat a very good, varied diet and keep myself well hydrated.

How many boards in your quiver and what’s your favourite board: I currently have 5 boards but my favourite by far is my new 5’10 SDF KX model. It works really well in small waves, gliding over flat sections as well as holding in head high waves.

Sum up your average day: I work as a Sports Development Officer in a Beach and Watersports facility so my days are tired up working – I’m very lucky with my job though as I can pop in for a quick surf during my lunch break and after work during the summer. A typical weekend would involve a surf check, load up the car with boards and friends, hang out, surf, laugh and just enjoy being outdoors 🙂